It’s also important to note that “transsexual” is an outdated term that is highly inappropriate and offensive. It’s as if these companies have not put in any effort in being educated about my community. There are just some people who will not acknowledge your gender identity. For this reason, every job has negatively triggered my gender dysphoria. Comments about my appearance are a constant thing I had to deal with. I once presented a solution at one of my jobs here in LA, about tweaking the dress code, so that trans women could feel more comfortable in the workplace. They refused to consider any alternatives, and I felt they weren’t willing to hear me at all, because they don’t understand the pain/frustration of gender dysphoria. In some jobs, I have even been reprimanded by managers about perceived dress code violations. It felt like they wanted to box me in and not let me express my womanhood. Currently, I am unemployed and still searching for part or full-time work. I have had interviews that are video and in-person. None of those companies has hired me or moved forward with my application, despite the fact that I’m fully qualified and have good references. At the end of the day, the reality is that my job choices are limited. Like I said earlier, many employers won’t hire me because of anti-trans and anti-Black biases. And if I do get hired, many workplaces will not accept me for me.

Black Trans Women Workplace Discrimiation  - 35Black Trans Women Workplace Discrimiation  - 89