‘An extraordinary girl with a sharp mind and vivid imagination who takes a daring stand to change her story – with miraculous results.’ You know the story – this is an adaptation of the Tim Minchin stage musical, which is an adaptation of the classic Roald Dahl novel. Starring: Alisha Weir, Lashana Lynch, Emma Thompson, Stephen Graham Our thoughts: Hani: ‘96 Matilda has a special place in my heart, which is why I never felt compelled to go and see the musical, but I now know I was missing out. Matilda the Musical is so exciting, terrifying, and fun that I didn’t even notice it was nearly two hours long. Overall, it feels complementary to the book and ‘90s film in the best way. The focus on the character’s backgrounds and the addition of the songs elevates the story and I think those who are familiar with the original plot will really enjoy it. I also LOVE how British it is; there’s school uniform, Crunchem Hall is an old Victorian building, and the kids eat Curly Wurlys and drink Irn-Bru; it’s all very nostalgic. Sam: I’m a huge fan of both the 1996 film and the stage musical, so I had high expectations for this, and let me say – it delivered! All the iconic moments from the film are there, plus viewers can now enjoy the extra plot and amazing songs from the show. What’s great is that you can’t draw a line from this movie to the original because it’s quite different, so it feels like a new film. Emma Thompson and Lashana Lynch are so good, and Alisha Weir KILLS it as Matilda. Starring:  Daniel Craig, Edward Norton, Janelle Monáe, Kathryn Hahn, Leslie Odom Jr., Jessica Henwick, Madelyn Cline, Kate Hudson, Dave Bautista Our thoughts:  Sam: SUCH a good follow-up to what is essentially a perfect film. This is how you cast an ensemble – everyone had a defined character and they all felt like they had good chemistry together. I think it has less of a whodunnit feel than the first film, but there are still layers to the plot, which are enjoyable to watch be peeled apart. Hani: All the best elements of the first Knives Out are there, but Glass Onion has a fresh feeling to it. There are layers to the story and some perfectly timed twists – it’s not a straight-up whodunnit like the first – I’d say it’s more of a whydunnit and a howdunnit. As you’d expect, Daniel Craig is great, and the rest of the cast delivered on the drama, comedy, and suspense front. Oh, and it’s set during the pandemic, which is kinda fun. Starring: Anna Diop, Sinqua Walls, Michelle Monaghan, Princess Adenike, Morgan Spector Our thoughts:  Hani: Nanny is easily one of the most creative tellings of an immigration story and Anna Diop was phenomenal – from the first scene, Aisha’s determination, love, and weariness felt real. It does a fantastic job of fusing the supernatural with a truly heartwrenching reality, making it the kind of film that stays with you ages after you leave the cinema (like, I’m still thinking about it). Starring: Taylor Russell, Timothée Chalamet, Mark Rylance, David Gordon Green, Chloë Sevingny Our thoughts: Sam: I… Just. This is quite a movie. The time and place setting is really engrossing, and the performances from everyone are brilliant – especially Mark Rylance as an oddball drifter, Sully. The movie is gory AF, and goes on for a LONG time, but it’s an interesting concept and story. To me, the kind of film you watch once and never again. Hani: I love a good coming-of-age story and Bones and All didn’t disappoint – it’s tender, horrific, and completely mesmerising.  Every element of the film feels delicately constructed, really pulling you into Maren’s dire world with themes that are incredibly relatable (cannibalism aside). This is another film that doesn’t leave you after it’s over, and the soundtrack is 10/10. If you’re squeamish and on the fence about seeing it: it’s very graphic, but it’s also very easy to cover your eyes during the gory parts without missing too much of the story. A reclusive English teacher living with severe obesity attempts to reconnect with his estranged teenage daughter for one last chance at redemption. Starring: Brendan Fraser, Sadie Sink, Hong Chau, Samantha Morton, Ty Simpkins Our thoughts: Ada: I have NEVER cried in the cinema the way I cried at this. What an amazing return for Brendan Fraser – he deserves the world, and Sadie Sink is a star in the making. I think this is Darren Aronofsky’s best film. Hani: This is how a play-to-film adaptation is done. I don’t want to say too much about The Whale because the trailer doesn’t give much away but it made me cry – one of my favourites from the whole festival. Brendan’s performance was so touching, so be prepared to get emotional. Starring: Tang Wei, Park Hae-il, Lee Jung-hyun, Go Kyung-pyo Our thoughts: Sam: I loved Tang Wei in this and found her absolutely captivating! The cinematography really makes the most of the beautiful location, and the script is sharp and witty. It’s another long one, but I think fans of playful crime movies will enjoy. Hani: If you’re a fan of film noir, Decision to Leave is a must-see. Some parts felt a little meandering, but the chemistry between the characters and the stunning visuals kept me hooked. Every scene is absolutely gorgeous – the kind of shots I’d write about if I were a film student. Ada: It was very creative – It’s a film where a lot is happening, but for a reason. The first part was a little slow, but it definitely picks up and is great after that. It was really shot fantastically. ‘An unlucky-in-love creative wants to find a life partner, but can’t seem to land the right guy. Instead, he throws himself into work, but when a hot lawyer catches his eye he thinks he may have inadvertently found the one.’ Starring: Luke Macfarlane, Billy Eichner, Brock Ciarlelli, Guillermo Díaz, Bowen Yang Our thoughts: Sam: I LOVED THIS MOVIE! It feels like a very genuine and clever assessment of the modern gay dating scene and lifestyle, and I could relate to the story and character of Bobby (Billy Eichner) a lot. Get ready for a LOT of laughs, some on-point cultural references, and some cute romantic moments too! And Bowen Yang, what more could you want? Tom, a policeman in 1950s Britain, falls in love with a schoolteacher on the Brighton coast. However, he soon begins a passionate same-sex affair with a museum curator, in spite of homosexuality being illegal. Starring: Harry Styles, Emma Corrin, David Dawson, Linus Roache, Rupert Everett, Gina McKee Our thoughts: Sam: This is a really great film for showing what queer men actually experienced in Britain not 55 years ago. I think the cast is ~eclectic~, so to speak. I really enjoyed parts of the film – mainly the stuff set in the ‘50s – but I was left with a lot of questions afterwards about why certain things happened. Harry is totally fine in the movie, and works well with Emma and David, but I didn’t totally believe that any of the main characters really loved each other, as they were supposed to in the story. Hani: I enjoyed My Policeman, but it didn’t break my heart like I wanted it to. The scenes set in the ‘50s were a fascinating and horrific look into history – the costume and setting completely pull you back in time. I just didn’t feel the love story. Some of the characters’ agony was palpable, but I think the relationships needed a bit more depth to make it a truly tragic love story. Ada: I was so focused on Harry – he was a lot stronger than his performance in Don’t Worry Darling that it pulled me into the story. I was a bit heartbroken, I will say. It’s a good reminder of the past, and I love it when films in the UK aren’t set in London.

9 Movies To Watch Before Next Year s Awards Season - 329 Movies To Watch Before Next Year s Awards Season - 89 Movies To Watch Before Next Year s Awards Season - 209 Movies To Watch Before Next Year s Awards Season - 359 Movies To Watch Before Next Year s Awards Season - 299 Movies To Watch Before Next Year s Awards Season - 799 Movies To Watch Before Next Year s Awards Season - 44